Crunchyroll #124: Slime from That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime!

Everyone told me That Time I Was Reincarnated as a Slime was good, and BOY were you all right. I FINALLY started watching it while working out in the morning, and I’m absolutely loving it. Rimuru is an awesome character who I love because he’s just so…chill. Like, seriously, we finally have a rational, level-headed protagonist who uses common sense to get out of tough spots…and it WORKS OUT for him! It’s oddly refreshing.

Anyway, since I’m now a Slime devotee, I felt it was only appropriate to jump on the viral internet trend from like two years ago. Trendy and timely, that’s me! Haha, actually, I was always really intimidated to make slimes. It looked like fun to play with, sure, but the ingredients, the cleanup…it seemed like a lot. AND, before everyone and their mother was making slime, the imprecise recipes of the slime pioneers killed me inside. Add “a pinch” of baking soda? Borax…how much? No one ever said, but they never failed to mention that if you got the proportions wrong it wouldn’t turn out. Hmmm, nope, not for me.

But now…now things have changed. Since the trend came and went, there are tons of great resources online clearly outlining how to make slime. SO, I went ahead and gave it a go. The ingredients are simple: water, glue, dye, and “magical liquid,” the Elmber’s Glue version of contact solution (which is used to activate the slime effect). Assembly is easy, too, as you basically  just mix everything together in the right order. I will admit, my coloring of the slime is definitely off; it’s too blue! But otherwise it turned out fairly nicely! If I were to do it again, I’d make it firmer so that it had more shape on it’s own. Otherwise, this was a really fun project, and I’d definitely recommend giving it a try, especially if you have kiddos at home who love this anime as much as I do. You can make your own pet slime!

If you love The Time I Was Reincarnated as a Slime, check out the Crunchyroll Grand Summoners x Slime Collaboration! Get even more of the slime goodness and have fun playing the game! Download it on the App store or via Google Play.

Watch the video below for more step-by-step instructions!



Ingredients for Slime

-7 cups water
-2 liters clear glue
-Blue food dye
-14 bottles of Elmer’s Magical Liquid

  


To Make the Slime

1. Start by selecting a bucket, bowl, or other large mixing container. It should preferably be glass or plastic, and have some kind of lid for the top. Clean it out, and then tip in the water, glue, and dye. Stir together.

2. Take your magical liquid and start adding in 1/4 cup at a time (about 1/4th of the bottle), stirring after each addition. Once you’re one bottle in, you can start being more generous with your pours and you won’t need to measure out each addition. The process will happen slowly—you’re making a TON of slime, after all—so have patience. Don’t be like me and accidentally drop your spatula in three times.

3. As you mix, make sure you scrape down all the corners so everything gets mixed together. There will come a point when it gets difficult to stir. At that point, keep adding in the magical liquid and mix with your hands until you reach the desired consistency.

4. BIG WARNING: This slime ended up being fine, but really really liquidy. To make it a lot firmer (but possibly less jiggly), add more magical liquid. The more you add, the firmer the slime will get, and definitely feel free to add as much as you want until you get your desired consistency. In hindsight, I would make it a lot firmer, but after fourteen bottles and roughly $100 in ingredients, I was so over this slime.

5. When done mixing together, let sit, covered, for three days to let bubbles rise to the surface. They should disappear completely, but I had to film the final product after only two days, so I still had some on top. Overall, I didn’t mind; do as you please. Technically, after you’re done adding the liquid, it’s totally done! You don’t have to wait- only if you want it super clear.

6. Enjoy! This is washable (if you use washable clear glue), but do be careful about getting it into carpets and fabrics as the dye may transfer. I….dropped a bunch on my carpet, and it will never be the same.


I hope you enjoyed this post! Check in next week for another recipe, and to check out more anime food recipes, visit my blog. If you have any questions or comments, leave them below! I recently got a Twitter, so you can follow me at @yumpenguinsnack if you would like, and DEFINITELY feel free to send me food requests! My Tumblr is yumpenguinsnacks.tumblr.comFind me on Youtube for more video tutorials! Enjoy the food, and if you decide to recreate this dish, show me pics! 😀

Leave a Reply